Search Page

Sunday, January 18, 2015 - 21:25

It's on my list okay ?!?!

It's on my list of books regarded as classics that I might one day get around to reading. Maybe. If I run out of other stuff to do . And I get the time. Here it is presented as an Amazon TV Pilot.

There is a reason why it hasn't jumped to the top of the pile, the premise has put me off.

Stop me if you've heard this before ....

America has been taken over by....

(Dramatic Chord) ....

NAZIS !

NO... WAIT ...

COME BACK ..!

I HAVEN'T FINISHED....

Oh well ..

I'm going to write a review anyway!

...

Read more
Saturday, November 29, 2014 - 17:00

Apologies for the delay all, my daughter caught the beginning of this episode and decided she would like to watch them all with me so I had to start again! Almost caught up now.

So how does this episode compare to the previous one? At first glance its another meta human baddie of the week episode. Fear not though, all is not as it seems.

So the team are out at a bar where Barry is trying to get drunk, but thanks to his metabolism just can't. It's great to see the guys out of the lab to be honest, although I am not sure how Cisco (Sisko?) got served, he looks about 16. During this a young lady appears to be robbing an office building and ends up bombing it.

Everyone wants to go there, Barry because he is the hero, Eddie because its his job and Iris because she is...

Read more
Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 17:34

Some people eh? 

You're born to a billionaire family, become a self-impoverished philanthropist doctor treating the poor of New York. 

You end up receiving an award and it goes straight to your head. 

Through the skull and into the brain in fact.

No misconceptions here, no trying to hide that it's a murder. 

Henry and Jo investigate the wealthy college friends of the dead doctor, and instantly you don't like any of them. There's "Jittery coke-head boy" , "Arrogant lawyer girl" and "Slimy corporate tosser lad". Not one sympathetic character among them. Yes, the rich are wankers,and if you renounce your wealth for altruistic reasons then your reward can only be a pointy crystal trophy straight into the cerebellum.

The investigations...

Read more
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 21:27

And so to the end of the series.

As with Series 1, we end with a review for Uljabaan. 

Unlike last year however, this time he's not looking to impress. Quite the reverse. He's had enough of his lousy posting and he wants out. Lucy has finally put a spanner in his works, or rather chewing gum in his matter manipulator, it apparently amounts to the same thing. 

So after being forced to clean his equipment himself to avoid only being able to replicate 1980's rom-coms, he decides that this invasion is beneath his dignity and decides to con his superiors into believing that Earth is more militarily advanced than the Geonin believed, so it would be better to call the whole thing off. 

Lucy and Katrina, happy at last, finally get to dial up the resistance thing with alien weaponry, supplied to fool the assessor,(including a working...

Read more
Sunday, November 23, 2014 - 22:11

Firstly, an apology: It's taken me far too long to get around to writing this recap. This is for a very good reason. Frankly, It has annoyed the piss out of me.

As anyone reading these reviews will probably know, I'm getting a bit fed up of all the flitting around that's going on this season. I accept that, in this day and age, we need a little bit of flair in the direction and cinematography of a show, but to purposefully leave threads hanging for weeks on end is just plain rude.

This error in storytelling is further compounded when you take a plotline that has been running over the last two seasons and completely undo it over the course of 42 excruciating minutes. I'm not sure about anyone else, but I feel cheated. To turn the whole 'Get to Washington, Wipe out the Zombies' plotline into a red herring basically means there is nothing left in terms of ongoing plot, other than whatever is going on with the Beth/Carryl trifecta.

Bitching and moaning aside, there...

Read more
Sunday, November 23, 2014 - 21:40

Obviously, since last episode, John has managed to once again give Zed the slip. This minor annoyance prompts Zed to use her psychic artistry once again in order to track down John & Chas' batcave. A couple of Doctor Who references later and now that the gang's all back together, it's off to solve a mystery.

This week's conundrum seems to revolve around the coveted single from Misplaced Abortion which, having rendered Rich temporarily deaf in season five of Skins, is now hell bent on freezing Constantine's old pals to death and subverting innocent children. This is no odder than the actual plotline which has a recording of the voice of Lucifer wreaking havoc upon the world.

This episode finally introduces us to one of the character we've all been waiting for since the series started: Papa Midnite. And he was absolutely awesome. Major respect to Michael James Shaw for his interpretation of the role. I hope to see a lot more of him in forthcoming episodes.

...

Read more
Thursday, November 20, 2014 - 14:23

So, my review of episode six can be pretty much summed up with a single, telling picture.  A little something that the props department handed to Jim Caviezel and said, 'Bet you you can't look casual carrying one of these puppies...' 

...

Read more
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 17:51

I'm always surprised by how easy it appears to gain access to secret meetings in high security buildings without anyone raising the alarm.

Where are the security services, cameras, checkpoints, armoured doors? Why aren't sensitive meetings held on the top floor of skyscrapers? Why does there always seem to be easy access via fire doors?

HYDRA agents brazenly walk into a UN meeting and start disintegrating people while Gen. Talbot is speaking. This sparks global outrage, which is the natural consequence of melting Italian ambassadors.

S.H.I.E.L.D. are splashed all over the news as terrorists. Talbot is answering to his "tame" senator, who happens to be Christian Ward, brother of Grant Ward who is currently being all concilliatory and cryptic in Coulson’s basement.

Newly returned Simmons recognises the weapons used from her HYDRA infiltration, and...

Read more
Sunday, November 16, 2014 - 14:58

We are off to a solid start to the season with some great story lines and strong female leads. Aside from the predictable reveal that the mountain men are harvesting the blood of grounders this is a good episode.

Clarke – starts of a little less exciting than the others, makes you want things to move along a bit. She – rightly – suspects the mountain men have something to hide after noticing a badly hurt guard recovers very quickly. Cue some rather awesome shenanigans by Clarke she finds out that the grounders are being used for their blood. Actually, this doesn't really upset me as much as the writers were going for I think, the grounders kill indiscriminately and without remorse and haven't yet got my sympathies. Kind of like the Eloi getting their own back on the...

Read more
Sunday, November 16, 2014 - 13:25

After a very brief 'previously...' segment and a similarly brief Mystery of the Week in the form of a detonating miner we're back in a dingy basement with John and Chas. The debate as to whether Constantine actually smokes or not continues as he carries around a lit cig with him for a while before Chas puts it out without it ever getting near his lips.

Following on from last week we get introduced properly to Zed, who appears to be some kind of psychic that has been compulsively drawing pictures of John. Comic fans should be pleased to see re-imaginings of classic Hellblazer covers around the room. I know I was.

Their initial meeting doesn't exactly go well with both of them pulling parlour tricks and John pulling a disappearing...

Read more